服务条款


生效日期:2022-05-12

欢迎来到由 The Center for Reimagining Learning(“我们”或“我们”)带给您的 Open edX 社区。 这些服务条款(“条款”)适用于openx.org网站域(“网站”)并适用于网站的所有用户,包括但不限于可能使用我们通过网站提供的服务和产品的个人和实体例如在网站上被列为服务提供商的机会。 当我们说“你”或“你的”时,我们指的是你。

请在使用本网站的任何部分之前阅读条款,因为这些条款是您和我们之间的协议,并规定了我们对彼此的法律义务。 

本网站仅适用于可根据适用法律订立具有法律约束力的合同的用户。 通过访问或使用本网站,您声明并保证 (a) 您在您居住或公民所在的州或国家/地区已超过成年年龄,并且 (b) 如果您代表法人实体使用本网站(例如您的雇主),您有权代表该实体接受这些条款,并且“您”和“您的”将指该实体。 如果您没有此类权限,或者您不理解或不希望受这些条款的约束,则不应使用本网站。 禁止 13 岁以下的任何人使用或访问。

我们也有一个 隐私政策, COOKIE 政策, 行为准则,以及不时适用于本网站用户的其他政策,特此通过引用并入这些条款。 请阅读所有这些政策。

这些条款的组织如下:

合规与行为准则

您同意您对自己使用本网站以及通过包括但不限于所有论坛帖子、表格和调查回复以及反馈(统称为“用户内容”)。 您同意遵守 行为准则 和不时适用于网站用户的其他政策以及所有适用的法律、法规和第三方权利(包括但不限于有关数据或软件的进出口的法律、隐私权、版权和当地法律) )。

作为使用本网站的条件,您同意您不会以任何方式使用本网站以损坏、禁用、超载或损害我们使用的任何服务器,或连接到我们使用的任何服务器的网络或干扰与任何其他方对本网站的使用和享受。 您不得试图通过黑客攻击、密码挖掘或任何其他方式未经授权访问本网站、其他帐户、计算机系统或连接到我们使用的任何服务器的网络。 您不得通过非本网站有意提供的任何方式获取或试图获取存储在本网站、其服务器或相关计算机上的任何材料或信息。 如果您在本网站上拥有帐户,您将不会共享您的密码或让其他任何人访问或破坏您的帐户。 此外,您同意不抓取或以其他方式批量下载任何网站内容,包括不限于系统上的用户列表或目录、用户内容或用户信息、课程材料或商标和徽标。

严禁物品

您不会使用本网站来鼓励或促进非法活动或侵犯第三方权利。 您不会使用本网站来误导他人或宣传任何故意不准确的信息。 您不会违反任何其他条款。 您不会在使用本网站时歪曲或掩盖您的身份。

此外,本网站严禁以下项目:

  • 诽谤、骚扰或威胁他人的内容;
  • 讨论意图实施非法活动的内容;
  • 侵犯他人知识产权的内容,包括但不限于版权或商标;
  • 亵渎、色情、淫秽、不雅或非法内容;
  • 广告或任何形式的商业招揽(除非我们允许);
  • 与党派政治活动有关的内容;
  • 病毒、特洛伊木马、蠕虫、定时炸弹、损坏的文件、恶意软件、间谍软件或任何其他可能损害他人计算机或财产运行的类似软件; 和
  • 包含故意不准确信息或以误导他人为目的而发布的内容(此列表统称为“严格禁止的项目”)。

您不得在网站上或通过网站提交、发布、发布、共享或以其他方式分发任何上述严格禁止的项目。

用户帐户

本网站上的某些服务和产品可能使您能够通过提供您的全名、电子邮件地址、居住国家或地区、公共用户名和用户密码来创建用户帐户。 您同意绝不会出于任何原因向任何第三方泄露或共享您的用户帐户的访问或访问信息。 在设置您的用户帐户时,可能会提示您输入其他可选信息(例如,您的出生年份)。 您声明您提供的所有信息都是准确和最新的。 您同意维护和更新您的信息,以使其保持准确和最新。

我们关心您的个人信息的机密性和安全性。 请参阅 隐私政策 有关收集和使用本网站数据的更多信息。

我们的内容

本网站包含属于我们并受美国和外国版权法保护的内容。 您可以在这些条款允许的情况下使用我们的内容。 除非网站上另有明确说明,否则网站上的内容,包括但不限于与网站上提供的课程和计划一起提供的任何培训和指导材料,仅供您个人使用,用于与我们的服务和产品相关的课程和计划。 通过使用本网站,您不会获得对本网站或其内容的任何权利的所有权。 本网站及其内容的所有权利,如果未明确授予,均予以保留。

本网站上出现的所有名称、徽标、印章和其他商标均为其各自所有者的财产。 未经适用商标所有者的书面许可,本网站上的任何内容均不得解释为通过暗示、禁止反言或其他方式授予使用本网站上显示的任何商标的任何许可或权利。 关于我们的商标,包括但不限于 Open edX 名称、商标和标志,您必须获得我们的使用许可,并且所有使用必须遵守 商标政策. 您不得删除、更改或掩盖本网站上出现的任何版权、商标或其他所有权声明。 

我们有时会为不同的用户提供不同版本的课程资料和软件。 我们这样做是为了为个人用户提供个性化的体验(评估用户的能力水平和学习方式,并提供最适合用户的材料),提高我们对学习过程的理解,并评估和提高学习的有效性我们的课程资料、平台功能和产品。 我们可能会发布或以其他方式公布此过程的结果,但除非另有许可 隐私政策,这些出版物或公开披露不会包含您的个人信息。

您的内容

通过提交或分发您的用户内容,您确认、声明并保证 (1) 您拥有复制和发布用户内容所需的权利、许可、同意和/或许可,并授权我们复制、修改、发布,并以与您在下面授予的许可一致的方式使用和分发您的用户内容,并且 (2) 您提交您的用户内容或行使下面授予的许可都不会侵犯或违反任何第三方的权利派对。 您,而不是我们,对您的用户内容以及发布或发布它的后果承担全部责任。

通过提交或分发您的用户内容,您特此授予我们一项全球性的、非排他性的、可转让的、可转让的、可再许可的、全额支付的、免版税的、永久的、不可撤销的权利和许可,以托管、转让、展示、执行、以任何形式和任何媒体格式并通过任何媒体渠道(现在已知或以后开发)复制、修改、分发、重新分发、再许可和以其他方式使用、提供和利用您的全部或部分用户内容。

我们保留自行决定以任何理由阻止、删除和/或永久删除您的用户内容的权利。

其他内容

本网站可能会为您提供访问其他人内容的权限。 此其他内容不一定反映我们自己的观点,未经作者许可或法律允许,您不得使用此类内容。

您了解,在使用本网站时,您可能会接触到来自各种来源的用户内容,我们不对此类用户内容的准确性、实用性、可靠性或知识产权负责。 您进一步理解并承认您可能会接触到不准确、冒犯性、诽谤性、不雅或令人反感的用户内容,并且您同意放弃并在此放弃您对我们拥有或可能拥有的任何法律或衡平法权利或补救措施或任何与此相关的 tCRIL 参与者(定义见下文标题为“免责声明”的部分)。 我们或任何 tCRIL 参与者都不认可任何用户内容或其中表达的任何意见、推荐或建议。 我们或任何 tCRIL 参与者均无义务监控任何用户内容或通过网站进行的任何其他用户通信。

但是,我们保留随时以任何理由审查用户内容并自行决定全部或部分编辑或删除任何用户内容的权利。 在不限制前述规定的情况下,在收到用户或内容所有者关于用户内容涉嫌不符合这些条款的通知后,我们可能会调查该指控并自行决定是否删除用户内容,我们保留随时进行,恕不另行通知。

本网站可能与第三方服务集成,或包含指向由第三方维护或控制的网站的超链接。 我们和 tCRIL 参与者对此类第三方可能提供的任何产品或服务的内容或使用不承担任何责任,也不定期对其进行筛选、批准、审查或认可。 如果您决定访问任何第三方服务或链接的第三方网站,您将自行承担风险。

终止合同

您同意,我们可随时自行决定以任何理由或无理由终止您对本网站的使用,恕不另行通知或承担任何责任。 我们的政策是在适当的情况下终止屡次侵犯版权的本网站用户的帐户。 我们保留随时自行决定对网站进行更改的权利,并且您同意我们不会因此类行为对您承担任何责任。

您可以随时终止您对本网站的使用或参与。 在本条款终止或您因任何原因终止对本网站的使用后,本条款中应在终止后继续有效的所有规定应在终止后继续有效,包括但不限于所有权条款、免责声明和责任限制。 终止您对本网站的使用不应免除您在此类终止之前产生或产生的任何义务或限制您可能对我们承担的任何责任,包括但不限于此处包含的任何赔偿义务。

最新动态

我们保留随时修改条款的权利,恕不另行通知。 对条款的任何更改将在此页面上发布后立即生效,并更新生效日期。 在进行任何更改后继续使用本网站,即表示您在预期的基础上同意修改后的条款和所有更改。 请务必定期返回此页面,以确保熟悉最新版本的条款。 

免责声明; 责任限制

本网站以及在本网站上或通过本网站提供的任何信息、内容和任何服务和产品均按“原样”和“现有”提供,不提供任何形式(明示、默示或其他)的保证,包括但不限于任何对适销性、特定用途的适用性和不侵权的默示保证,除非适用法律不得否认任何此类默示保证。

我们和 TCRIL 参与者(定义如下)不保证该站点将以不间断或无错误的方式运行和提供,不保证该站点没有病毒或其他有害组件,或者该站点上提供的内容网站将满足您的需求或期望。 我们和 TCRIL 参与者也不保证网站上包含的内容的准确性、完整性、及时性或质量,也不保证任何特定内容将继续可用。 “TCRIL 参与者”是指麻省理工学院、哈佛和所有为网站提供信息、内容或服务的实体。

在适用法律允许的最大范围内,您同意,我们或任何 TCRIL 参与者均不对您因使用本网站而导致或与之相关的任何实际或后果性损失或损害承担责任, 您的索赔是否基于合同、侵权、法定或其他法律。

特别是,在适用法律允许的最大范围内,我们和任何 TCRIL 参与者均不对任何间接的、间接的、惩罚性的、特殊的、惩戒性的或附带的损害承担任何责任,无论是可预见的还是不可预见的,无论我们或任何人是否的 TCRIL 参与者的疏忽或其他过失(包括但不限于诽谤、错误或利润损失的索赔)。

除法律无法限制的责任外,我们和 TCRIL 参与者将我们对您的责任限制为 100 美元。 我们和 TCRIL 参与者均不对我们网站、服务或产品的任何用户的行为或内容负责,无论是在线还是离线。

某些州法律不允许限制默示保证或排除或限制某些损害。 如果这些法律适用于您,则上述部分或全部免责声明、排除或限制可能不适用于您,并且您可能拥有其他权利。

保障

在适用法律允许的最大范围内,您同意为我们和 tCRIL 参与者、我们及其各自的子公司、关联公司、高级职员、教职员工、学生、研究员、理事会成员、代理人和雇员辩护,使其免受损害并赔偿针对因您使用本网站而引起、产生或以任何方式与之相关的任何第三方索赔、诉讼或要求,包括但不限于因任何和所有索赔、损失、损害(实际和间接)而产生的任何责任或费用,各种类型和性质的诉讼、判决、诉讼费用和律师费。 在这种情况下,我们或适用的 tCRIL 参与者将向您提供此类索赔、行动或要求的书面通知。

这些条款构成您与我们之间关于您使用本网站的完整协议。 如果这些条款与您可能与我们达成的直接协议之间存在任何冲突,则以直接协议为准。 我们未能行使或执行本条款的任何权利或规定不构成对该权利或规定的放弃。 如果有管辖权的法院认定本条款的任何规定无效,双方仍同意法院应努力使该条款中反映的各方意图生效,并且本条款的其他规定应保留在充分的力量和效果。 本条款不产生任何第三方受益权或任何代理、合伙或合资企业。 对于我们根据条款向您提供的任何通知,我们可能会通过与您使用本网站相关的电子邮件地址通知您。

您同意本条款以及因本条款引起或与之相关的任何索赔或争议将受马萨诸塞州联邦法律的管辖,不包括其法律冲突规定。 您同意所有此类索赔和争议将仅在位于美国马萨诸塞州剑桥市并为其服务的联邦或州法院审理和解决 您同意这些法院为此目的对您的个人管辖权,并且您放弃并同意不对在这些法院的此类诉讼提出任何异议(包括对缺乏适当管辖权或地点或法院不便的任何辩护或异议)。 尽管有上述规定,您同意我们仍被允许在任何司法管辖区申请禁令救济(或同等类型的紧急法律救济)。

数字千年版权法案

认为其材料在本网站上受到侵犯的版权所有者应联系我们指定的版权代理: dmca-agent@tcril.org 或在 The Center for Reimagining Learning, One Broadway, 14th Floor, Cambridge, MA 02142,注意:tCRIL DMCA 代理/总法律顾问。

通知必须包括:

  • 受版权保护作品的标识,或者在同一地点有多个作品的情况下,该网站上此类作品的代表性列表。
  • 识别声称侵权或成为侵权活动对象的材料。 您必须提供足够的信息以便我们找到材料(例如 URL、IP 地址、计算机名称)。
  • 我们能够联系投诉方的信息(例如,电子邮件地址、电话号码)。
  • 投诉方认为该材料的使用未经版权所有者或授权代理人授权的声明。
  • 声明通知中的信息准确无误,并且投诉方有权代表版权所有者行事。

联系信息

如果您对这些条款有任何疑问,请通过以下方式联系我们 隐私@tcril.org. 您也可以写信给我们: ATTN: PRIVACY, The Centre for Reimagining Learning, One Broadway, 14th Floor, Cambridge, MA 02142 USA。

最新动态

生效日期更新说明
2022-03-09将“edX”的引用替换为“tCRIL”
2022-05-12修订后以“我们”、“我们”和“我们的”取代对“tCRIL”的引用,并澄清我们当前的运营,例如:

– 本网站的预期用户范围(即非未成年人)。
– 包括不共享密码和不抓取内容的行为规则。
– 有关用户帐户的新信息以及您使用这些帐户的要求。
– 关于网站内容的新信息,包括我们可能会向不同用户展示内容的个性化版本的可能性,我们可能会自行决定阻止、删除或删除内容的可能性,以及您和我们对他人内容使用的要求在网站上。
– 澄清我们可以自行决定终止对本网站的任何使用。
– DMCA 权利和流程。
– 我们更新的联系信息。

Join the Open edX Conference 2024!
Close ×
The 2024 Open edX Conference will present innovative use cases for one of the world's best open source online learning management systems, the Open edX platform, and discover the latest advancements in instructional design, course constellation, and methods for operating & extending the Open edX platform, including breakthrough technologies, such as generative AI.

Terms of Service


Effective Date: 2023-04-14

Welcome to the Open edX community, brought to you by Axim Collaborative (“we” or “us”). These Terms of Service (the “Terms”) apply to the openedx.org website domain (the “Site”) and apply to all users of the Site including without limitation individuals and entities that may use services and products that we offer via the Site such as the opportunity to be listed as a service provider on the Site. When we say “you” or “your,” we mean you.

Please read the Terms prior to using any portion of the Site, as the Terms are an agreement between you and us and set forth our legal obligations to each other. 

The Site is only available to users who can form legally binding contracts under applicable law. By accessing or using the Site, you represent and warrant that (a) you are over the age of majority in the state or country where you are a resident or citizen and (b) if you are using the Site on behalf of a legal entity (such as your employer), you are authorized to accept these Terms on that entity’s behalf, and “you” and “your” will refer to that entity. If you do not have such authority or if you do not understand or do not wish to be bound by the Terms, you should not use the Site. Any use or access by anyone under the age of 13 is prohibited.

We also have a Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Code of Conduct, and other policies from time to time that apply to users of the Site and are hereby incorporated by reference into these Terms. Please read all these policies.

These Terms are organized as follows:

Compliance and Rules of Conduct

You agree that you are responsible for your own use of the Site and for all content submitted, posted, published, or distributed on the Site by, including but not limited to all forum posts, form and survey responses, and feedback (collectively, “User Content”). You agree to comply with the Code of Conduct and other policies from time to time that apply to users of the Site as well as all applicable laws, regulations, and third-party rights (including without limitation laws regarding the import or export of data or software, privacy, copyright, and local laws).

As a condition of using the Site, you agree that you will not use the Site in any manner intended to damage, disable, overburden, or impair any server we use, or the network(s) connected to any server we use or to interfere with any other party’s use and enjoyment of the Site. You may not attempt to gain unauthorized access to the Site, other accounts, computer systems, or networks connected to any server we use through hacking, password mining, or any other means. You may not obtain or attempt to obtain any materials or information stored on the Site, its servers, or associated computers through any means not intentionally made available through the Site. If you have an account on the Site, you will not share your password or let anyone else access or compromise your account. Furthermore, you agree not to scrape, or otherwise download in bulk, any Site content, including not limited to a list or directory of users on the system, User Content or user information, course materials, or trademarks and logos.

Strictly Prohibited Items

You will not use the Site to encourage or promote illegal activity or violation of third-party rights. You will not use the Site with the intent of misleading others or to promote any intentionally inaccurate information. You will not violate any other Terms. You will not misrepresent or mask your identity in connection with use of the Site.

IN ADDITION, THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE STRICTLY PROHIBITED ON THE SITE:

  • Content that defames, harasses or threatens others;
  • Content that discusses illegal activities with the intent to commit them;
  • Content that infringes another’s intellectual property, including but not limited to, copyrights or trademarks;
  • Profane, pornographic, obscene, indecent or unlawful content;
  • Advertising or any form of commercial solicitation (except only as we may permit);
  • Content related to partisan political activities;
  • Viruses, trojan horses, worms, time bombs, corrupted files, malware, spyware, or any other similar software that may damage the operation of another’s computer or property; and
  • Content that contains intentionally inaccurate information or that is posted with the intent of misleading others (this list, collectively, “Strictly Prohibited Items”).

You may not submit, post, publish, share, or otherwise distribute any of the above Strictly Prohibited Items on or via the Site.

User Accounts

Some of the services and products on the Site may enable you to create a user account by providing your full name, an email address, your country or region of residence, a public username, and a user password. You agree that you will never divulge or share access or access information for your user account with any third party for any reason. In setting up your user account, you may be prompted to enter additional optional information (e.g., your year of birth). You represent that all information provided by you is accurate and current. You agree to maintain and update your information to keep it accurate and current.

We care about the confidentiality and security of your personal information. Please see the Privacy Policy for more information about the collection and use of data on the Site.

Our Content

The Site includes content that belongs to us and is protected by United States and foreign copyright laws. You may use our content as permitted by these Terms. Unless otherwise expressly stated on the Site, content on the Site, including without limitation any training and instructional materials provided with courses and programs offered on the Site, is for your personal use in connection with our services and products those courses and programs only. By using the Site, you do not acquire ownership of any rights in the Site or its content. All rights in the Site and its content, if not expressly granted, are reserved.

All names, logos, seals, and other trademarks that appear on the Site are the property of their respective owners. Nothing contained on the Site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on the Site without the written permission of the owner of the applicable trademark. With respect to our trademarks, including without limitation the Open edX name, trademark and logo, you must obtain our permission for usage, and all use must adhere to the Trademark Policy. You may not remove, alter, or obscure any copyright, trademark, or other proprietary rights notices that appear on the Site. 

We sometimes present different users with different versions of course materials and software. We do this to personalize the experience to the individual user (to assess the user’s level of ability and learning style and to present materials best suited to the user), to improve our understanding of the learning process, and to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of our course materials, platform features, and offerings. We may publish or otherwise publicize results from this process, but unless otherwise permitted by the Privacy Policy, those publications or public disclosures will not include your personal information.

Your Content

By submitting or distributing your User Content, you affirm, represent, and warrant (1) that you have the necessary rights, licenses, consents, and/or permissions to reproduce and publish the User Content and to authorize us to reproduce, modify, publish, and otherwise use and distribute your User Content in a manner consistent with the licenses granted by you below, and (2) that neither your submission of your User Content nor the exercise of the licenses granted below will infringe or violate the rights of any third party. You, and not us, are solely responsible for your User Content and the consequences of posting or publishing it.

By submitting or distributing your User Content, you hereby grant to us a worldwide, non-exclusive, transferable, assignable, sublicensable, fully paid-up, royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to host, transfer, display, perform, reproduce, modify, distribute, redistribute, relicense, and otherwise use, make available, and exploit your User Content, in whole or in part, in any form and in any media formats and through any media channels (now known or hereafter developed).

We reserve the right to block, remove, and/or permanently delete your User Content for any reason at our discretion.

Other Content

The Site may provide you with access to other people’s content. This other content does not necessarily reflect our own views, and you may not use such content without permission from the author, or as allowed by law.

You understand that when using the Site, you may be exposed to User Content from a variety of sources and that we are not responsible for the accuracy, usefulness, reliability, or intellectual property rights of or relating to such User Content. You further understand and acknowledge that you may be exposed to User Content that is inaccurate, offensive, defamatory, indecent, or objectionable and you agree to waive, and hereby do waive, any legal or equitable rights or remedies you have or may have against us or any of the Axim Participants (as defined below in the section titled “Disclaimer of Warranty”) with respect thereto. Neither we nor any of the Axim Participants endorse any User Content or any opinion, recommendation or advice expressed therein. Neither we nor any of the Axim Participants have any obligation to monitor any User Content or any other user communications through the Site.

However, we reserve the right to review User Content and to exercise our sole discretion to edit or remove, in whole or in part, any User Content at any time and for any reason. Without limiting the foregoing, upon receiving notice from a user or a content owner that User Content allegedly does not conform to these Terms, we may investigate the allegation and determine in our sole discretion whether to remove the User Content, which we reserve the right to do at any time and without notice.

The Site may be integrated with third-party services or include hyperlinks to websites maintained or controlled by third parties. We and the Axim Participants are not responsible for and do not routinely screen, approve, review or endorse the contents of or use of any of the products or services that may be offered by such third parties. If you decide to access any third-party services or linked third-party websites, you do so at your own risk.

Termination

You agree that we, in our sole discretion and at any time, may terminate your use of the Site for any reason or no reason, without prior notice or liability. It is our policy to terminate in appropriate circumstances the accounts of users of the Site who are repeat copyright infringers. We reserve the right at any time in our sole discretion to make changes to the Site, and you agree that we will not have any liability to you for such an action.

You may terminate your use of or participation in the Site at any time. Upon any termination of the Terms or termination of your use of the Site for any reason, all provisions of the Terms that by their nature should survive termination shall survive termination, including, without limitation, ownership provisions, warranty disclaimers, and limitations of liability. Termination of your use of the Site shall not relieve you of any obligations arising or accruing prior to such termination or limit any liability that you otherwise may have to us, including without limitation any indemnification obligations contained herein.

Updates

We reserve the right to modify the Terms at any time without advance notice.  Any changes to the Terms will be effective immediately upon posting on this page, with an updated effective date. By continuing to use the Site after any changes have been made, you signify your agreement on a prospective basis to the modified Terms and all the changes. Be sure to return to this page periodically to ensure familiarity with the most current version of the Terms. 

Disclaimer of Warranty; Limitation of Liability

THE SITE AND ANY INFORMATION, CONTENT, AND ANY SERVICES AND PRODUCTS MADE AVAILABLE ON OR THROUGH THE SITE ARE PROVIDED “AS IS” AND “AS AVAILABLE” WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND (EXPRESS, IMPLIED OR OTHERWISE), INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND NON-INFRINGEMENT, EXCEPT INSOFAR AS ANY SUCH IMPLIED WARRANTIES MAY NOT BE DISCLAIMED UNDER APPLICABLE LAW.

WE AND THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS (AS DEFINED BELOW) DO NOT WARRANT THAT THE SITE WILL OPERATE AND BE MADE AVAILABLE IN AN UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR-FREE MANNER, THAT THE SITE IS FREE OF VIRUSES OR OTHER HARMFUL COMPONENTS, OR THAT THE CONTENT PROVIDED ON THE SITE WILL MEET YOUR NEEDS OR EXPECTATIONS. WE AND THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS ALSO MAKE NO WARRANTY ABOUT THE ACCURACY, COMPLETENESS, TIMELINESS, OR QUALITY OF THE CONTENT INCLUDED ON THE SITE OR THAT ANY PARTICULAR CONTENT WILL CONTINUE TO BE MADE AVAILABLE. “AXIM PARTICIPANTS” MEANS MIT, HARVARD, AND ALL ENTITIES PROVIDING INFORMATION, CONTENT, OR SERVICES FOR THE SITE.

TO THE FULLEST EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, YOU AGREE THAT NEITHER WE NOR ANY OF THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS WILL BE LIABLE TO YOU FOR ANY LOSS OR DAMAGES, EITHER ACTUAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL, ARISING OUT OF OR RELATING TO THE TERMS, YOUR USE OF THE SITE, WHETHER YOUR CLAIM IS BASED IN CONTRACT, TORT, STATUTORY OR OTHER LAW.

IN PARTICULAR, TO THE FULLEST EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, NEITHER WE NOR ANY OF THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS WILL HAVE ANY LIABILITY FOR ANY CONSEQUENTIAL, INDIRECT, PUNITIVE, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY OR INCIDENTAL DAMAGES, WHETHER FORESEEABLE OR UNFORESEEABLE AND WHETHER OR NOT WE OR ANY OF THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS HAVE BEEN NEGLIGENT OR OTHERWISE AT FAULT (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, CLAIMS FOR DEFAMATION, ERRORS, OR LOSS OF PROFITS).

EXCEPT FOR LIABILITY THAT WE CANNOT LIMIT BY LAW, WE AND THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS LIMIT OUR LIABILITY TO YOU TO US$100. NEITHER WE NOR THE AXIM PARTICIPANTS ARE LIABLE FOR THE CONDUCT OR CONTENT, WHETHER ONLINE OR OFFLINE, OF ANY USER OF OUR SITE, SERVICES, OR PRODUCTS.

CERTAIN STATE LAWS DO NOT ALLOW LIMITATIONS ON IMPLIED WARRANTIES OR THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF CERTAIN DAMAGES. IF THESE LAWS APPLY TO YOU, SOME OR ALL OF THE ABOVE DISCLAIMERS, EXCLUSIONS, OR LIMITATIONS MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU, AND YOU MIGHT HAVE ADDITIONAL RIGHTS.

Indemnification

To the maximum extent permitted by applicable law, you agree to defend, hold harmless and indemnify us and the Axim Participants, and our and their respective subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, faculty, students, fellows, governing board members, agents and employees from and against any third-party claims, actions or demands arising out of, resulting from or in any way related to your use of the Site including without limitation any liability or expense arising from any and all claims, losses, damages (actual and consequential), suits, judgments, litigation costs and attorneys’ fees, of every kind and nature. In such a case, we or the applicable Axim Participant will provide you with written notice of such claim, action, or demand.

These Terms constitute the entire agreement between you and us with respect to your use of the Site. In the event of any conflict between these Terms and a direct agreement that you may have with us, the direct agreement will control. Our failure to exercise or enforce any right or provision of the Terms shall not constitute a waiver of such right or provision. If any provision of the Terms is found by a court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, the parties nevertheless agree that the court should endeavor to give effect to the parties’ intentions as reflected in the provision and the other provisions of the Terms shall remain in full force and effect. The Terms do not create any third-party beneficiary rights or any agency, partnership, or joint venture. For any notice provided to you by us under the Terms, we may notify you via the email address associated with your use of the Site.

You agree that the Terms and any claim or dispute arising out of or relating to the Terms will be governed by the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, excluding its conflicts of law provisions. You agree that all such claims and disputes will be heard and resolved exclusively in the federal or state courts located in and serving Cambridge, Massachusetts, U.S.A. You consent to the personal jurisdiction of those courts over you for this purpose, and you waive and agree not to assert any objection to such proceedings in those courts (including any defense or objection of lack of proper jurisdiction or venue or inconvenience of forum). Notwithstanding the foregoing, you agree that we shall still be allowed to apply for injunctive remedies (or an equivalent type of urgent legal relief) in any jurisdiction.

Digital Millennium Copyright Act

Copyright owners who believe their material has been infringed on the Site should contact our designated copyright agent at dmca-agent@axim.org or at Axim Collaborative, One Broadway, 14th Floor, Cambridge, MA 02142, Attention: Axim DMCA Agent/General Counsel.

Notification must include:

  • Identification of the copyrighted work, or, in the case of multiple works at the same location, a representative list of such works at that site.
  • Identification of the material that is claimed to be infringing or to be the subject of infringing activity. You must include sufficient information for us to locate the material (e.g., URL, IP address, computer name).
  • Information for us to be able to contact the complaining party (e.g., email address, phone number).
  • A statement that the complaining party believes that the use of the material has not been authorized by the copyright owner or an authorized agent.
  • A statement that the information in the notification is accurate and that the complaining party is authorized to act on behalf of the copyright owner.

Contact Information

If you have questions about these Terms, please contact us at privacy@axim.org. You may also write to us at: ATTN: PRIVACY, Axim Collaborative, One Broadway, 14th Floor, Cambridge, MA 02142 USA.

Updates

Effective DateDescription of update
2022-03-09Replaced references to “edX” with “Axim Collaborative”
2022-05-12Revised to replace references to “Axim Collaborative” with “us,” “we,” and “our,” and to clarify our current operations, for example:

– The scope of intended users of the Site (i.e., not minors).
– Rules of conduct that include not sharing passwords and not scraping content.
– New information about user accounts and requirements for your use of these accounts.
– New information about content on the Site, including the possibility that we may present personalized versions of content to different users, the possibility that we may block, remove or delete content at our discretion, and requirements of your and our use of other people’s content on the Site.
– Clarification that we may terminate any use of the Site at our discretion.
– DMCA rights and processes.
– Our updated contact information.
2023-04-14Replaced references to “Axim Collaborative” and “Axim Collaborative” with “Axim” and “Axim Collaborative”