商标和许可

tCRIL 商标政策

生效日期:26 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

本政策涵盖提及 Open edX 平台以及使用重新构想学习中心(“组织”或“组织”)可能向您许可的商标、服务标记和徽标(统称为“组织标记”)的一般规则。

以下是组织标志的非详尽列表:

  • 打开edX®*
  • 微型大师®
  • 微学士学位®

* 本组织是 Open edX® 商标的授权被许可人,本组织在获得商标所有者许可的情况下使用该标志。

商标指南 几个商标的链接如下。 本组织保留随时自行决定更改本政策或任何指南条款的权利,将更新后的政策或指南发布到 Open edX 网站。 要询问有关本政策的任何问题或报告任何未经授权使用商标的行为,请发送电子邮件至 商标@tcril.org.

一般规则:需要许可

通常,使用任何组织标志都需要商标许可。 除了下面列出的三个例外,本政策不被视为“使用”任何商标,并且没有“开源”预先批准的用例。 要请求使用任何组织标志的许可,请发送电子邮件 商标@tcril.org.

例外

没有单独的商标许可:

  • 您可以使用组织标记 在文本中 仅用于提及或描述本组织的网站、产品和服务。 例如:如果您有与 Open edX 平台兼容的产品或服务,您可以使用“Open edX”来描述兼容性,例如“运行”、“用于”或“兼容”开放edX平台。
  • 如果您使用 Open edX 平台:
    • 美味 应该 在您网站的每个页面的页脚添加“Powered by Open edX”徽标,并且该徽标应包含指向 打开 edX 网站。 请参阅 由 Open edX 徽标页面提供支持 有关此徽标的变体以及如何将其添加到您的实例的说明; 和
    • 您可以根据下面链接的 Open edX 商标指南,在与您的实例相关的任何课程证书或其他证书上使用“Powered by Open edX”徽标。
  • 如果您提供支持 Open edX 平台的服务和/或产品,您可以在此类服务和/或产品的网站 URL 路径中使用“Open edX”字标。 为清楚起见,此例外仅适用于 (1) “Open edX”字标,不适用于任何其他组织标志,以及 (2) 在 URL 路径中的使用; 您不得在网站域中使用“Open edX”字标或任何其他组织标志。 例如:

❌ openx.yourdomain.org

www.yourdomain.com/services/openedx

使用规范

组织标志的所有使用必须遵守适用的 商标指南 并且:

  • 将 Open edX、MicroMasters 和 MicroBachelors 标记识别为注册商标 ® 。
    上述组织标志由本组织或相关商标所有人在全球多个国家/地区注册。 对于以上列出的组织标志在任何情况下的首次和最突出的使用,在组织标志之后使用符号“®”作为向第三方通知商标所有者在这些组织标志中的权利。 (以后在同一网站、文档或其他材料上的使用不需要标记。)
  • 包括商标归属声明。
    如果组织标志出现在您的网站、文档或其他材料上,请添加以下标识商标所有者的归属声明:

“Open edX 是 edX LLC 的注册商标。 MicroMasters 和 MicroBachelors 是 The Center for Reimagining Learning 的注册商标。 版权所有。”

该声明必须在您的网站底部或广告或出版物的末尾以清晰的字体和大小显示。 如果您只使用一个或两个组织标志,您可以缩短声明以仅列出那些正在使用的标志。 此外,任何使用 打开edX 网站上的徽标必须包含指向 Open edX 网站的实时链接。

  • 仅将组织标记用作形容词。
    商标是形容词,Org Mark 只能用于描述商标适用的组织的网站、产品或服务——例如,“Open edX 平台”、“MicroMasters 计划”或“MicroBachelors 计划” .
  • 使用组织标记 不太显眼 比你自己的。
    除非组织另有明​​确许可,否则必须出现对组织标志的任何使用 不太突出 而不是您自己的产品或服务名称。
  • 请勿更改任何组织标志的拼写或外观。
    不要缩写、连字符、创建首字母缩略词; 更改拼写、大小写或外观; 添加或删除任何单词或空格; 改变任何颜色或比例; 或以任何方式修改组织标志的徽标或设计。 仅使用本组织提供的经批准的徽标再现。
  • 不要使用或注册带有任何组织标志的域名。
    您的域名不得包含任何组织标志或其他与组织标志容易混淆的词语。 不可接受的域的示例包括:

❌ openx.yourdomain.org

❌ openxyourdomain.org

❌ yourdomain-openedx.com

  • 请勿将任何组织标记用作您自己的标记。
    您不得全部或部分使用、合并、组合或注册任何组织标志——或任何与组织标志混淆性相似的文字或设计——作为(或与)您自己的公司名称、商号、商标的一部分、服务标志或徽标; 您的产品或服务品牌名称或销售代表或其他员工的头衔; 您的互联网关键字或元标记; 或您的触发词,以导致网站或其他 Internet 目的地、产品、业务或服务。
  • 不暗示任何组织的认可或赞助。
    未经本组织事先明确书面同意,您不得使用任何组织标志来暗示与本组织有关联关系或本组织对您的公司、网站、产品或服务的任何批准、赞助或认可。
  • 不要以任何损害组织的方式使用组织标志。
    您不得以贬损组织、其产品或服务或 Open edX 社区或损害组织的品牌完整性的方式使用组织标志,包括以冒犯性、诽谤性、非法或不道德的方式使用任何组织标志.

上述规范不是组织标志的批准或未经授权使用的完整列表。 如果组织在任何时候自行决定您对任何组织标志的使用违反了本政策,任何 商标指南 或其他不可接受或有害的,组织可以撤销许可,您必须立即停止对组织标志的所有使用。

商标指南

打开edX® 商标指南 PDF

微型大师® 商标指南 PDF 

微学士学位® 商标指南 PDF

打开 edX 许可

Open edX 项目同时使用 GNU Affero 通用公共许可证,版本 3 (AGPLv3) 和 阿帕奇2.0 开源许可证。 Open edX 平台中的代码分布在 GitHub 上的多个存储库中 open-edx GitHub 组织,并且每个存储库都根据 AGPL 或 Apache 许可证获得许可。

Open edX 平台代码通常分为三个主要类别,如下所述。 每个类别都有自己的许可注意事项。

AGPL 自由软件 - Free as Freedom
Apache - 软件基金会

作为核心 Open edX 平台一部分的代码是 AGPLv3。

该许可证有助于确保共享平台的所有更改,保证平台是真正的开放资源,每个人都将从改进中受益。 这包括但不限于。

edx平台

edx-配置n

edx-ora2

其他人用来访问 Open edX 平台 API 的代码通常是 Apache。

AGPL 的传播性质使某些人难以采用。 对于广泛使用比共享改进更重要的存储库,Open edX 项目通常使用 Apache 许可证。 这包括 API 库,例如 XBlock。

广泛兴趣或开发人员的工具通常也是 Apache。

这些工具可能与 Open edX 平台没有特别的关系,并且不作为平台的一部分运行。 例如,它们可能会引起任何 Python 开发人员的兴趣。 像这样的工具通常会获得 Apache 许可,以使其得到更广泛的使用和采用。 这包括诸如白菜之类的工具。

要确定给定存储库使用哪个许可证,请阅读相关文件中包含的许可文件 GitHub存储库.

Join the Open edX Conference 2024!
Close ×
The 2024 Open edX Conference will present innovative use cases for one of the world's best open source online learning management systems, the Open edX platform, and discover the latest advancements in instructional design, course constellation, and methods for operating & extending the Open edX platform, including breakthrough technologies, such as generative AI.

Trademark & Licensing

Axim Collaborative Trademark Policy

Effective: July 26, 2022

This Policy covers general rules for referring to the Open edX platform and using trademarks, service marks, and logos that Axim Collaborative (the “Organization” or “Org”) may license to you (collectively, “Org Marks”).

The following is a non-exhaustive list of Org Marks:

  • Open edX®*
  • MicroMasters®
  • MicroBachelors®

* The Organization is an authorized licensee of the Open edX® trademark and this Mark is used by the Organization with permission of the trademark owner.

Trademark guidelines for several of the Marks are linked below. The Organization reserves the right to change the terms of this Policy or any guidelines at any time, in its sole discretion, by posting the updated Policy or guidelines to the Open edX website. To ask any questions about this Policy or to report any unauthorized use of the Marks, please email trademarks@axim.org.

General Rule: Permission Required

As a rule, a trademark license is required in order to use any Org Mark. Except for the three exceptions outlined below, this Policy does not count as “permission to use” any trademarks, and there are no “open source” pre-approved use cases. To request permission to use any Org Mark, please email trademarks@axim.org.

Exceptions

Without a separate trademark license:

  • You may use Org Marks in text for the sole purpose of referring to or describing the Organization’s websites, products, and services. For example: if you have a product or service that is compatible with the Open edX platform, you may use “Open edX” to describe the compatibility, such as “runs on,” “for use on,” or “compatible with” the Open edX platform.
  • If you use the Open edX platform:
    • you should add the “Powered by Open edX” logo in the footer of each page of your website, and the logo should include a live link to the Open edX website. See the Powered by Open edX logo page for variants of this logo and instructions on how to add it to your instance; and
    • you may use the “Powered by Open edX” logo on any course certificates or other credentials issued in connection with your instance in accordance with the Open edX trademark guidelines linked below.
  • If you offer services and/or products that support the Open edX platform, you may use the “Open edX” word mark in the path of a URL for your website for such services and/or products. For clarity, this exception applies solely to (1) the “Open edX” word mark and not to any other Org Marks and (2) use in the path of a URL; you may not use the “Open edX” word mark or any other Org Mark in a website domain. For example:

❌ openedx.yourdomain.org

www.yourdomain.com/services/openedx

Specifications for Use

All uses of Org Marks must comply with the applicable trademark guidelines and also:

  • Identify the Open edX, MicroMasters, and MicroBachelors marks as registered trademarks ® .
    The above-listed Org Marks are registered by the Organization or the applicable trademark owner in a number of countries around the world. For the first and most prominent usage of the above-listed Org Marks in any context, use the symbol “®” after the Org Mark as a notice to third parties of the trademark owner’s rights in these Org Marks. (Later uses on that same website, document, or other material do not need to be marked.)
  • Include a trademark attribution statement.
    If an Org Mark appears on your website, document, or other material, add the following attribution statement that identifies the trademark owner:

“Open edX is a registered trademark of edX LLC. MicroMasters and MicroBachelors are registered trademarks of Axim Collaborative. All Rights Reserved.”

The statement must be in a legible font and size at the bottom of your website or the end of your advertisement or publication. If you are using only one or two Org Marks, you may shorten the statement to list only those Marks in use. Additionally, any use of the Open edX logo on a website must include a live link to the Open edX website.

  • Use Org Marks only as adjectives.
    Trademarks are adjectives, and an Org Mark should be used only to describe the Organization’s websites, products, or services to which the trademark applies — for example, the “Open edX platform”, a “MicroMasters program”, or a “MicroBachelors program”.
  • Use Org Marks less prominently than your own.
    Except where otherwise expressly permitted by the Organization, any use of an Org Mark must appear less prominent than your own product or service name.
  • Do NOT change the spelling or appearance of any Org Marks.
    Do not abbreviate, hyphenate, create acronyms; change the spelling, capitalization, or appearance; add or delete any words or spacing; change any color or proportion; or otherwise modify the logo or design of an Org Mark in any way. Only use an approved logo rendition as provided by the Organization.
  • Do NOT use or register a domain name with any Org Marks.
    Your domain names may not include any Org Marks or other words that are confusingly similar to an Org Mark. Examples of unacceptable domains include:

❌ openedx.yourdomain.org

❌ openedxyourdomain.org

❌ yourdomain-openedx.com

  • Do NOT use any Org Marks as your own.
    You may not use, incorporate, combine, or register in whole or in part any Org Mark – or any word or design that is confusingly similar to an Org Mark – as part of (or with) your own company names, trade names, trademarks, service marks, or logos; your product or service brand names or titles for sales reps or other staff; your internet keywords or metatags; or your trigger words to lead to a website or other Internet destination, product, business, or service.
  • Do NOT imply any Organization endorsement or sponsorship.
    Without the express prior written consent of the Organization, you may not use any Org Marks to imply an affiliation with the Organization or any approval, sponsorship, or endorsement by the Organization of your company, website, products, or services.
  • Do NOT use Org Marks in any way that damages the Organization.
    You may not use Org Marks in a manner that disparages the Organization, its products or services, or the Open edX community or damages the Organization’s brand integrity, including use of any Org Marks in a manner that is offensive, defamatory, illegal, or unethical.

The above specifications are not a comprehensive list of approved or unauthorized uses of Org Marks. If the Organization determines at any time, in its sole discretion, that your use of any Org Mark violates this Policy, any trademark guidelines or is otherwise unacceptable or detrimental, the Organization may revoke permission, and you must immediately cease all use of the Org Mark.

TRADEMARK GUIDELINES

Open edX® Trademark Guidelines PDF

MicroMasters® Trademark Guidelines PDF 

MicroBachelors® Trademark Guidelines PDF

Open edX Licensing

The Open edX project uses both the GNU Affero General Public License, version 3 (AGPLv3) and the Apache 2.0 open source license. The code in the Open edX platform is spread across a number of repositories on GitHub under the open-edx GitHub organization, and each repository is licensed under either the AGPL or the Apache license.

The Open edX platform code generally falls into three main categories that are described below. Each category has its own licensing considerations.

AGPL free software - Free as Freedom
The Apache - Software Foundation

Code that is part of the core Open edX platform is AGPLv3.

This license helps ensure that all changes to the platform are shared, guaranteeing that the platform is truly an open resource and that everyone will benefit from the improvements. This includes, but is not limited to.

edx-platform

edx-configuration

edx-ora2

Code that is used by others to access Open edX platform APIs is generally Apache.

The propagating nature of the AGPL makes it difficult for some people to adopt. For repositories where broad use is more important than shared improvements, the Open edX project generally uses the Apache license. This includes API libraries such as XBlock.

Broad-interest, or developer, tools are often Apache, too.

These are tools that may have nothing in particular to do with the Open edX platform and that do not run as part of the platform. They could be of interest to any Python developer, for example. Tools like this will often be Apache-licensed to enable their broader use and adoption. This includes tools such as bok choy.

To figure out which license a given repository uses, read the licensing file contained in the relevant GitHub repository.